The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine. A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument suggests that advertising firms whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth based on a recent study. It appears to be logical at first glance, however, the argument needs to justify some assumptions in order to warrantee its suggestion. Otherwise it is specious.

First of all, citing data from the survey, the argument seems to believe that the longer an executive has slept, the more successful his or her advertising firm will be. However, the survey doesn’t provide details such as whether it asks for average sleeping hours within a week, or within a month. If some executives happened to work overnight in the most recent week, their sleeping hours are surely shorter than others. Moreover, is sampling 300 executives adequate to represent the whole population? What if there are some executives who sleep less than 6 hours yet still achieve great success? Therefore, without justifying the survey, the argument’s suggestion remains fallacious.

Secondly, the argument believes that the prosperity of an advertising firm relies on how long does its executive has slept since it indicates that executives who sleep more than 6 hours bring more profit and faster growth to the firms. However, it is oversimplified to contribute a firm’s success to only its executive. Every employees in a firm can bring a profit through working together and making the firm prosperous. For example, if everyone is so dedicated and careful that not a single mistake is made, the firm can grow certainly.

To sum up, I find this argument’s suggestion specious and there are some assumption needed to be justified. As mentioned above, the argument has to prove that the validity of the survey, the credibility of a 300-sample out of the whole population and the correlation between an advertising firms to their executives.