The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities. Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument states that it makes financial sense for the food distribution company to continue service from Buzzoff Pest Control Company for their better performance to protect the food warehouses against pest damages. This argument appears to be logical and reasonable at first glance. When considering the process of reasoning, however, a quite amount of evidence is indispensable to guarantee the vice president’s suggestion.

Citing data of the loss from two food warehouses, the vice president suggests that Buzzoff provides a more effective service. However, the number of stock in the inventory is needed to evaluate a more objective number of loss. For example, the percentage of the food loss of each food warehouse. Even though Fly-away served the warehouse in Palm City lost food that worth 20,000 dollars, the total quantity of food stored in the warehouse is unknown. If the total amount of the food is worthy of a million dollars and a 2% loss is reported. Analogously, if the food warehouse in Wintervale contains food that is only worthy of ten thousand dollars, the percentage of loss, which is t10%, is considerably high compared to that of Palm City. Therefore, without sufficient evidence of the true quantity in stocks of each food warehouse, the argument remains specious and we cannot warrant the vice president’s suggestion.

Secondly, the environmental factors should be taken into account when it comes to evaluating the effectiveness of these two companies. The two warehouses are located on different spots which may share different environment with each other, such as: humidity, average temperature and so on. Some factors may be advantageous for certain pests to breed; therefore, they can easily damage more food in stock. Consequently, due to the environmental difference between two food warehouses, we cannot determine if Buzzoff is of effectiveness even though its service gives a favorable report; maybe the surroundings in Wintervale is not suitable for pests to breed and it is an easy job for Buzzoff to handle, whereas Palm City may provide a perfect breeding ground for pests to grow and inevitably, a seemingly considerable loss is caused. Thus, without taking natural factors into account, the argument is fallacious.

Moreover, judging from an one-month statistic is far from enough to justify the vice president’s suggestion. The argument only examine one-month report. What if Fly-away happens to perform poorly in last month and serve gracefully in others? Also, even though Fly-away has performed badly for a long time and the loss of food can be compensated for the relatively low price charged, it doesn’t hold up the vice president’s position. With the lack of long-term statistical reports to rationalize the high charge of Buzzoff’s service, we are not able to regard the suggestion as feasible.

Finally, although the foregoing assumptions turn out to be valid, the vice president only considers two companies as if they are the only choices. Are there pest control companies providing not only better effectiveness than Buzzoff, but also charging cheaper than Fly-away? We don’t know. The vice president may take other potential companies into consideration in order to justify the argument.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To better assess the argument I would need to know the number of the quantity of each food warehouse, the actual environmental factors which hinder the protection service, a long-term statistical report and also the availability of other pest control companies.