The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing reports a 30% more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries plant in which works shifts are one hour shorter. Additionally, the vice presidents indicates that factors in on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers; therefore, a shorter shift is needed to be carried out. This suggestion makes a logical sense at first glance, however, upon closer examination, there are some flaws needed to be warranted to strengthen its suggestion. I shall explore in the following essay.

First, the vice president asserts that they have 30% accidents more than Panoply Industries plant where workers’ shifts are shorter. However, the statistic remains specious since we don’t know the actual number of reported accidents. A comparable higher percentage seems to be inadequate to assume that there are a lot of accidents happened. For example, what if last year there were 3 accidents happened at Quiot Manufacturing whereas only 1 happened at Panoply Industries plant? These numbers look trivial compared to the seemingly exaggerated percentage. Consequently, only by comparing the actual number of accidents can we realize the seriousness of the situation and therefore the suggestion is enhanced.

Secondly, the vice president seems to assume that all the accidents reported are resulted from exhausted workers. The statistic states that there are 30% more accidents happened yet it fails to offer details about what has attributed to these accidents. For example, an explosion may happen due to malfunctioned machine and electrical facilities may shut down due to excess usage of electricity at once. None of these accidents are outcomes because of tired workers and the vice president should include this situation into consideration. Thus, without further details provided by the statistic, we cannot guarantee the fatigue workers is the main reasons of on-the-job accidents.

Moreover, even though all the assumption mentioned above turn out to be valid, the argument fails to provide correlation between effectiveness and shorter shifts. Does a shorter shifts really give workers more time to rest and therefore they can contribute effectiveness? What if workers don’t need want that much time to rest and they want more working hours in order to earn more money? Would the shorter shifts discourage such workers and they eventually lose interests in working because working overtime to make money isn’t viable anymore? We don’t know that.

To sum up, even though it is reasonable to shorten shifts and provide workers with more resting time. There are some flaws needed to be justified in order to support the suggestion, that is: the actual number of accidents reported, the validity of the reported accidents and its causes as well as the correlation between shorter shifts and effectiveness.