The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing argues that the company should shorten each of the three work shifts by one hour, letting the employees get adequate amount of sleep. However, there are several assumptions that the vice president need to state to strengthen the argument.

During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than Panoply, where the work shifts are one hour shorter. This argument only compares Quiot with one nearby company, Panoply, which we don't know the type the company is. Different types of companies may have different kind of on-the job accidents rate. For example, if the Panoply's works are less dangerous than Quiot, it was likely that they would had a lower on-the-job rate than Quiot. Even if Quiot and Panoply are same type of companies are their on-the-job accidents rates are comparable, this statement is based on one year period, which is not long enough to tell the long-term trend. If last year's data of both companies are outliers over the long-term, then the statement is not statistically rigorous. We need to observe two same types of companies for a longer time-period to judge the statement.

The experts mentioned in the argument claims that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. This statement doesn't mention the background of the experts. If the experts are some college graduates researching fatigue issues on employees, then the results are questionable and needed further verification. Even if the experts are well-know experts regarding sleeping, it's still too early to say that on-the-job accidents are related to fatigue and sleep deprivation, since these two things are hard to measure.

In the conclusion part, the vice president suggests that Quiot Manufacturing should shorten the three work shifts by one hour, allowing the employees have adequate amounts of sleep. This argugment is based on the previous observation between Quiot's and Panoply's on-the-job accidents rate, which is a questionable observations mentioned above. Even if the observation is correct, we still need evidence to prove that one hour is the best reduction to improve the productivity.

Thus, the vice president needs to state the assumptions above to strengthen his argument.