According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is

on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by

adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic

endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated.

Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored

students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating

per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one

cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a

recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to

cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities

should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among

students.

The argument suggests that in order to reduce cheating among students, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s because of its prior success in doing so. The suggestion makes logical sense at first glance; however, there are several questions needed to be answered to justify this argument. Otherwise, its suggestion is fallacious.

To begin with, the arguments averts that the honor code has successfully reduced students cheating based on the reported incidents by teachers and the number is lower than previous system. However, it engenders a question, that is: if the reported number can represent the whole students? If there are only a certain group of students who keep cheating in their academic endeavors and they disregard the honor code system even it is implemented. Moreover, another question needed to be answered is: who actually report student cheating? Maybe only a few teachers care about the reporting mechanism while most of teachers don’t even care if students are cheating or not. Consequently, the number of reported number is definitely decreased. Thus, unless these questions are answered, the argument is unwarranted.

Secondly, the argument states that according to a recent survey, a majority of students of Groveton said they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without; therefore, the honor code can effectively reduce students cheating. However, the argument fails to elucidate a question: who actually answer the survey. It only mentions a majority of students instead of an actual number of students on campus. If the survey has targeted students who don’t cheat in academic endeavors, their opinions about the honor code are meaningless. Moreover, the argument also fails to elaborate the content of the survey. What if questions regarded to honor code are a three-question section of a ten-page, tediously long questionnaire? People tend to give random answers when the survey becomes dull in order to finish it as soon as possible. Thus, without proving the credibility of the survey and targeted people, the argument is unjustified.

To sum up, the argument is reasonable when it comes to reducing cheats among students with honor code system. However, there are some questions required to be answered in order to justify its suggestion, that is: if the reported number of student cheating can represent the whole population? If only a few teachers are dedicated in using reporting system and if the survey and targeted students are credible? Without answering any question above, the argument is not warranted.