Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

With the advance of modern industrial development, advertisements are frequently used to attract people to make a purchase. However, some say advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need while others think it tells us about new products that may improve our lives. As for me, I believe that advertising provides useful products which actually improve my life.

First, with the advance of technologies, there are more and more useful products that claim to improve our life. Take learning knowledge, for example, such products are said to provide a more efficient way for people to learn certain subjects effortlessly. One of my experience can best describe this idea. When I was in high school I was tired of learning subjects in a tedious way, that is, sitting in classes and listening to teachers all day long. However, I saw an advertisement promoting a series of magazines which provided a more interesting way for people to learn. That was the product I would like to purchase; therefore I bought an English-learning magazine. I was impressed since the book not only taught me vocabularies or grammar, it also introduced a lot of English culture, arts and history. I was fascinated with the informative content offered by this magazine and my English skill had progressed dramatically. Thus, advertising does tell us a brand new products which can benefit our lives.

Second, in addition to offering learning material, advertising also arouse people's awareness of their well beings. Such as advertisements that talk about exercising or balanced diets allows people to be more cautious of their bodies. I used to suffer from back pain for a week, it was painful that I could barely slept well. Nevertheless, when I was waiting for my doctor in a hospital, I saw an ad which happened to discuss about back issue of modern people, which including long-time siting, imbalanced diets and lack of exercising. I was impressed because what the hosts talked about was exactly what happened to me recently; therefore, inevitably, I had a back injury. The ad introduced an exercising equipment and showed a short clip of how to use it. I ordered it online as soon as I came home and miraculously, my back recovered from pain within a week. I was glad that I saw the advertisement.

To sum up, by providing useful products and improve our lives, advertising is favorable to people. In a word, advertisements not only offer better learning materials, but also provide products that are beneficial to our health.