Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

New commodities and technologies are developed every day which provide us a wide range of options to choose when we are purchasing something. Personally, I believe that ads help us to know about what is new in the trade facilitating us to make decisions for what is more beneficial. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, the main function of merchandising is to inform people about the availability of supplies, otherwise, how we would know this. The announcement should achieve the public that the product was made for, such as teenagers, housewives, undergraduates or businesspeople. It can be made online, on TV shows or with leaflets, posters and billboards. For example, I have never bought vegetables and fruits at the grocery store near my house because there were not organic products available. Nevertheless, a few months ago I received in my mailbox a leaflet explaining that the grocery had already had products free of pesticides. From that day on I always go there to purchase green goods since it has affordable prices and is close to my house for my convenience.

Secondly, advertising has a positive role in our society, helping us to choose between competing goods. Modern products and home appliances may enhance our everyday lives and tasks facilitating our household works. There is a lot of competitiveness in the market on the ground that a great variety of brands, designs and prices. My own experience demonstrates this, last year my mother was very upset with her vacuum and in doubt that what brand she will choose. She went to the shop and came back more confused, however, when she saw a TV advertisement telling about a new more potent, silent and smaller one she quickly decided that she needs to purchase it between all the others. As a result, she immediately bought it online and obtained it five days later.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we just can decide about essential supplies when are informed about the options. Therefore, achieving the right public and helping them make decisions is the goal of advertising.