Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

New commodities and technologies are developed every day which provide us a wide range of options to choose when we are purchasing something. Personally, I believe that ads help us to know about what is new in the trade facilitating us to make decisions for what is more beneficial. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, the main function of merchandising is to inform people about the availability of something. Otherwise, how we would know this. The announcement should achieve the public that the product was made for, it can be made online, on TV shows or with leaflets, posters and billboards. For example, last month went to the beauty store to buy a new shampoo. There were a lot of types of products that I got confused to choose the best option. Then I remembered the publicity made by a digital influencer, therefore, I recognize the shampoo immediately when I saw it. How can I choose it if I was not informed that it exists?

Secondly, modern goods may enhance our everyday lives and tasks. Home appliances are one of these types of equipment that can facilitate our household work, hence more sophisticated and up-to-date they are better. My own experience demonstrates this, last year my mother was very upset with her vacuum. When she saw a TV advertisement telling about a new more potent, silent and smaller one she decided that she needs to purchase it.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we just know about essential supplies when are informed. Therefore, achieve the public and upgrade their lives is the goal of advertising.