"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A nation should be homogenous in all aspects of its territory, such as education, economy, taxes and legislations because a nation is a people under the same laws and expectations. Personally, I agree with the given statement that school students should have the same national curriculum until the university. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, when students have the same level of study they are equivalent in preparation and may compete equally in life. For example, if there is the same curriculum in a nation there is no difference to study in public or private schools. The content of subjects and matters of study should be the same, therefore, the students will have the same competitivity in a job interview or in a college application because they have the same opportunities and quality of study during their school lives. On the other hand, if the curriculum is not the same some students may study more content or more advanced matters than others. It would be unfair when they submit themselves to a test application for example.

Secondly, having a national curriculum is an advantageous method that the government can evaluate the school’s and student’s performance since they should be nationally equivalent. For instance, if the government applies a test in high school students and some schools have an overall grade inferior to the national average it can be implied that those schools are having trouble in educational process and assessment. Hence, new measures and policies can be determined to enhance these schools.

Nevertheless, these similarities in the content of study should be in the principal matters such as math, biology, physics and so on. When related to artistic matters for example dance, music and drama class I think that should prevail the student’s choice and preference.

To conclude, a national curriculum is advantageous because all the students will have the same chances since they are equally prepared, moreover the educational institutions can be closely assessed.