A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The curriculum which the students study in their school is the base upon which they are going to build up a foundation after graduating from the school. Moreover, it is this curriculum only which helps and guides the students for their future. The prompt states that all the students to study the same curriculum before entering college. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion and believe that students should be taught the specific courses on which they want to specialize in future of the course which they would like to pursue in college. I support my view with the following three reasons:

First of all, all the students have different interests and different views of what field they want to pursue in future or after graduating from school. It is very much likely that some of the students have much affinity towards science while some might seem science to be an arrantly boring subject but might have strong proclivity towards sports. Thus, teaching science in-depth to those students will not be beneficial for the students as well as school, since these students will find it difficult to score well in the subject, eventually scoring low grades. Moreover, this can even create frustration in the students, leading them to even quit their education. Graduating from school is the most common degree required by many professions such as colleges and companies, it is very important that student get to study the matter which interests them.

Secondly, different students have different potentials. If all schools in the country have the same curriculum irrespective of the types of students, then it might be difficult for some of the students to cope up with the rest of the students. Students have different learning rate such that some students might find quadratic equations much easier even if they are in fifth grade only, while some might get the complete grasp of it when reached seventh or eighth grade. Thus, if these students are taught the same syllabus, it is very much likely that some of the students might not be able to get the complete hold of the subject leading them to perform inferiorly than others.In addition, this will eventually lead to lowering the self-esteem of the students due to which they might not be able to socialize with other students of the class thinking he/she is not as smart as them. Thus it is very important for the schools to set up the curriculum on the basis of potentials of the students as everyone has their own pace of learning new things.

Finally, if all the students are taught the same curriculum, it might lead to hampering the creativity of the students. As already discussed, everyone have their own interests. Thus, if everyone is taught the same thing, the students who might have might creative in other fields might not get to reveal his hidden talent because of the lack of teaching in that subject. For example, there are so many cases that people in differetn profession doing well in others. For an instance, Brett Lee is an average Cricket player from Australia. But, it is seen that, he has a very good vocals and he can sing very well such that he can even be a professional singer if train a bit in that field. Thus, if the school in which he was studying would have identified his talent at that time such that allowing him to practice more of his own interest, he would have been a much better singer than he is a cricketer right now.