Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty

In the article mentioned above, the author states that Adams Realty is superior in real estate business as compared to Fitch Realty. The author has come to this conclusion based on the quick sales of the home done by Adams along with generating more averaged revenues than Fitch’s. However, before coming to this conclusion, three questions must be answered.

First of all, does having a greater number of agents manifest the success of a firm? In other words, can the ability and superiority of a firm be attributed to the number of employees working over there? It is very much likely that, although with less employees or agents, Fitch Realty might have the more hard working and diligent people as compared to Adams. The number of employees does not signify success as success of a firm depends upon the quality of work and dedication of the employees. Further, another possibility is that the average number of sales done per employee in Fitch be more as compared to the Adams such that Fitch might have sold less houses in total, but the number sold by per employee is more than Adams. If either of these scenarios had merit, then the conclusion drawn by the article is highly weakened.

Second of all, the author posits that high average sales of a company are directly related to the superiority of it. It can be the case that the price of the houses sold by Adams was much higher as compared to the Fitch- which might have only low cost houses to be sold, thus making low average sales of the firm. It can most probably be that the number of houses sold by Fitch be more than the Adams but since the cost of the houses sold by Fitch can be very much low as compared to Fitch, its average revenue remained lower. If any of these cases hold water, then the conclusion drawn by the author is weakened.

Finally, the author claims that the time taken by Fitch was more to sell his house as compared to the Adams- which took significantly less time than Fitch. The author has assumed that selling a house in less time shows the superiority of a firm. But, it can be the case that the house given to the Fitch was not that attractive or it might have many faults and the house given to the Adams was in very good condition due to which many people might have opted to buy it. It is also possible that the house sold by Adams was in a very good locality with easy transport to all the essential parts of the city like hospitals, schools, etc. Thus, if any of these cases holds water, the claim made by the author is weakned.