Pets should be treated like family members.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.

Some people think that pets should not be treated as family members. They cite this based on their belief that pets are animals and should not get the treatment as humans. I, however, strongly disagree with this and believe that pets should be treated like family members. The three reasons for my belief are as follows.

First of all, pets are loyal to their owners. For example, I petted a dog for five years and always treated it as a member of my family and not as an animal. Whenever we used to go out of our house to any other places such as to our relatives or to the market, my dog always used to guard the house and waited for us to return. Moreover, one night an intruder tried to enter our house and it was only because of the continuous barking of my dog, he ran away. Hence, dogs are such loyal friends to us; they deserve to be treated like family members.

Secondly, pets are obedient when treated nicely. For example, one of my friends pets a dog which is around 1 year old. My friend does not treat the dog properly and kicks it whenever it does something wrong. As a result of this, the dog is always scared and tries to run away and hide from him. However, the other members of his family treat the dog with love and provide proper care to it and because of this, the dog is obedient to them and follows them where ever they go and does whatever they say.

Finally, pets are good friends of people. Whenever you are alone in your house and you are feeling low, your pet will always be your side to accompany. Pets don't demand anything from the owners expect for their love. For example, last summer, all of my family members were gone to one of our relatives such that it was just me and my dog in my house. I would have easily got bored if my dog was not with me to play and accompany me. Thus it is very important to treat your pet like family members because they also think of us a family only.

In conclusion, though some people might disagree, I strongly believe that pets have every right to be treated like family members. I cite this belief because pets are loyal to us and some of them even provide security to our house, they are obedient and trustful, and they are our friends.