In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule? Use specific reasons and details to support your position.

In some countries, whether people are allowed to smoke in public places and office buildings have been long time debated. In my opinion, I think smoking should be prohibited in public places and office buildings.

First, smoking is extremely unhealthy not only to smokers themselves, but also people who are nearby inhaling the smokes. According to an analytical report, smoke created with cigarettes is ten times dangerous to nearby people who inhale it than smokers themselves, such smoke is called "secondhand smoke" and it is proven to pose great threats. A medical statistics shows that children live in a family where their parents have smoking habits have higher chance to be diagnosed with diseases than their counterpart. Even though children don't smoke, the secondhand smoke caused by their parents are damaging children's bodies and they are possibly growing up with different illnesses. Symptoms are including, according to the statistic, allergy, coughing and retarded development of immune systems. Thus, smoking in public can do harm to people nearby.

Second, smoking can cause irritating working environment; therefore, have negative impacts on other people. Nowadays, cigarette industries are revolutionizing smoking experiences to attract people to continue purchasing their products. For example, fruit-flavored cigarettes or cigarettes consisted of natural spices ingredients. Such products may be pleasant to smokers, but never the non-smokers. Since these kind of products always create unacceptable, pungent smell, it annoys people who don't smoke. Imagine that you have to endure such awful smell in the office, it cannot allow people to focus on their job and even lower their wills to come to offices. Therefore, smoking in office building can negatively affect people.

Although some argue that smoking may help relieve stress. If they are suffered from heavy pressure from their families and jobs, smoking while chilling could give a temporary comfort zone and help them clear mind and so allow them to handle their issues. Nevertheless, smoking seems to have brought more negative effects than positive ones. Because smoking in public places and office buildings can not only do harm to other who don't even smoke, but also causes unpleasant environments and lower people's will to work. Therefore, I believe it is a decent rule to prohibit people from smoking in public places and office buildings.