In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

One of the important elements of today world is the unimaginable amount of stress it imposes on people. Humans tend to resort to unhealthy to combat their stress, smoking being one among them. One of the important aspects of smoking which people do not seem to concur is to whether or not smoking should be allowed in public places. Turning a blind eye toward those who agree or repudiate the contention, I tend to learn towards the idea that, public smoking should be discouraged and penalized.

Among a plentitude of reasons which smoking imposes, health hazards should be looked into as an important factor. Smoking leads to severe diseases and disorders like bronchitis, asthma and lung carcinoma. To make matters worse, smoking not only punishes the smokers but also the people surrounding them. To elucidate on, there have been multiple instances of colleagues, friends and spouses of smokers being affected by the said diseases. Preventing smoking in public places, thus leads to better public health.

Smoking has a bad influence on children. A public smoker negatively influences children around him. A child becomes inquisitive about cigarettes. Unaware of the consequences, teens may have the chances of resorting to unhealthy use of tobacco. To reduce such mis-happenings, public smoking should be avoided.

It is necessary to abide by the social rules. These rules have been imposed on to the public to promote co-existence. Meticulously following these social rules is necessary for the public welfare. Not smoking in public is one among them. When an imbalance is created in the ecosystem, it leads to severe destruction. Although banning smoking causes financial losses for distributors and manufacturers, we have to think from a broader perspective of public welfare. Thus, I reiterate that smoking must be banned in public. Public smokers should be punished and penalized.