In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Leadership alternation appears to be a routine in diverse organizations. Indeed, when fresh troops of senior executives or officials succeed their predecessors, dynamic and innovative strategies may be put forward and faster progress is liable to ensue. Conversely, suppose an ineffective leading team always remains unaltered, the success of an enterprise may be at stake. Given this, I genuinely approve of the necessity for leaders whose terms have expired to hand over their power to those who are more capable of making a difference. Nonetheless, as for prominent leaders, they are entitled to serve for a longer period.

On the one hand, newly-appointed leaders are emboldened to bring forth positive and thorough changes to justify their superiority over their precursors. Anyhow, “a new broom sweeps clean.” Normally, soon after they assume office, radical reforms that facilitate better operation may be sketched out and then strictly enforced. Regarding institutions that aim to snatch and fortify a dominant status within their respective fields, timely reformation is much desired. In other words, the mission of new leadership is of supernal worth to the promising future of an organization. This is determined by the heightened demand for strategic revitalization as well as miscellaneous exterior impacts. For example, in many countries around the world, top government leaders, including the president, the prime minister, the foreign minister, and other high-ranking officials, are jointly elected to serve for one or at two terms. Each term of service largely extends over 4 or 5 years. Meanwhile, relevant laws and regulations empower smooth leadershipsubstitutions at the national level. As a consequence, all leaders should fully appreciate the essentiality of a finite term. By making the wisest use of this precious length of time, they shall be able to make their marks on the history of their organizations.

Mr. Xi Jinping, a widely-acclaimed politician, was elected President of China in 2013. Ever since the accession of new leadership, the Chinese people have profoundly sensed desirable changes taking place in different aspects of life. In his inaugural speech, President Xi vowed to crack down on corruption and curb waste. So far, the comprehensive Anti-corruption Campaign has been sternly implemented and frugality advocated nationwide. Being a man of his words, President Xi initiated daring cases against many former top officials once involved in corruption-related scandals. To intensify such efforts, he even delegated “centrally-dispatched inspection teams” to conduct in-depth investigations on public officials. When it comes to economic reforms, a new policy was intended to reduce the government’sparticipation in capital distribution and restructure state-owned enterprises. Undoubtedly, the entire nation is thankful for this laudable leadership subrogation and embraces firm confidence to realize the magnificent “Chinese Dream”.

On the other hand, some instances substantiate prolonged terms of office. Witnessing the emergence of predominant leaders, particularly entrepreneurs, we should by no means underrate the irreplaceable role they play in administrating their ventures. Though starting from scratch, they have gradually constructed unrivaled leading forces that may function well for a much longer period. It was Konosuke Matsushita who founded Panasonic in 1917. Without any capital or manufacturing experience at the very beginning, he resolved to carry forward his business endeavor. Having gone through many years of assiduous struggle, he finally boosted his company to be one of the world’s largest manufacturers of electrical products, which certifies Matsushita’s remarkable capability as a business leader. He remained active and powerful in Panasonic's operation right until his complete retirement in 1973. He deserves more time in power.

To sum up, the effectiveness of an organization can be restored or upgraded through leadership switches on suitable occasions. That is to say, most leaders are supposed to work for a restricted length of time. In the process, if their leadership techniques exhibit certain drawbacks, a reliable way is to revitalize the situation by selecting brand-new leaders. After all, only those who manage to attain the highest efficiency are likely to hold their power as long as possible.