A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

In this statement ,there is a twenty-year study of patients in Mentia who suffered headaches shows that the salicylates, a kind of efficient components like aspirin, can reduce the illness and the pain of the patients in Mentia. Also , the salicylates is used by food company as flavor additives and preservatives into the foods, which may imply the patients who eat the food containing the salicylates will have the effect which reduce the headaches. I think there are some fact that we need to evaluate carefully.

First of all, the study was confined by a single place without the number of the participants and contrast group. Testing a medicine's effectiveness requires los of conditions. The study's geographic limitation will undermine the conclusion made by the study. The author does not tell us how many participants joined in the study, because with few paticipants, likewise, the conclusion isn't compelling. What's more, the author does not show us whether there was a contrast group participants who never take salicylates, at this point ,we cannot conclude the effect of curing headaches is from taking salicylates. This is the most significant point which we can predict the result in a study, the author should indicate this condition.

Secondly, because of the existence in the food , the original source of salicylates obsecure us by the way of taking them. We cannot define where the participants absorbed this matter, either from preservaives or flavors additives could be possible.Moreover, because there are several ways in we cooking and eating foods, whether the main components of salicylates is changed into another matter still confuse us. The author makes the study a little complicated that we cannot conclude the effect of salicylates from the foods have the effect of curing headaches at last.

Third , the trend of headache's declining shows no obvious relevance to taking salicylates. As the author mentions in the statement, there is a steady decline of the number of patients who suffered the headaches,but due to the analyze we discuss above, we cannot conclude it is the result of taking salicylates.