The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author contends that a city named Clearview is a perfect choice for retirees. He supports his contention by adding that Clearview has natural beauty, low cost of living and a great healthcare system. While the argument might seem acceptable at first glance, further inspection reveals some assumptions that require our attention.

The first assumption that is not backed by evidence is the low cost of living. The fact that housing costs have fallen during the past year does not guarantee that they are low or that they will continue falling. I would be more convinced if the author provided the actual range of these costs and an estimation about their future levels. It also strikes me that the housing costs might have fallen because people have moved out of Clearview. This would disqualify the arguer's proposition in favor of Clearview as the perfect place. Therefore, evidence regarding the reason underlying the decline in housing costs would be useful. Finally, the claim that the taxes are lower than the ones in neighboring towns, does not ensure that the taxes are actually low. It would be helpful to know the actual tax percentages to be able to evaluate if the taxes are low.

Another assumption that the author makes is that the criteria with which retirees choose their place of retirement are solely the ones that he addresses. However, retirees might value the quality of clean air in a place, the activities available, the distance from their children and grandchildren and the quality of transportation both in the city and between the city with places abroad. Thus, the author would be more convincing if he included a list of the retiree's priorities and how they are met in Clearview, as evidence to prove the city caters to all these needs.

A crucial piece of evidence has to do with the claim about the healthcare system. The memo refers to the number of physicians but fails to take into account the quality of their education, their experience and the number of medical specializations that they cover. Moreover, the number of physicians is not suggestive of their efficiency on the grounds that if the demand for physicians is greater than the supply, they will not be able to take care of all patients. A more pertinent detail would be the number of physicians per capita. This piece of information would attest to the high quality healthcare provided in Clearview.

In conclusion, the argument in the magazine article is not based on sound reasoning. The author could make a well-substantiated case if he added pieces of evidence regarding the actual costs of living, the retirees' needs and the efficiency of the healthcare system.