The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author contends that the Sartorian's aplaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before given the high demand, which is expected for this type of clothing, and the increased prices. He adds that, even thought the company had ceased the production of aplaca overcoats as a result of the absence of reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, it will now continue its production. While at first glance the statement might seem acceptable, further inspection of it reveals some logical errors that render it unconvincing as it stands.

The first assumption that the author makes is that the wool fabric quality will remain unaltered. Common sense informs me that the new supplier might provide the company with a different wood quality, which will not necessarily guarantee the high demand that used to exist for the overcoats five years ago. Therefore, the demand that the company is expecting is based on ill-supported evidence. I would be more convinced if the author cited information in the form of comparative data about the wool characteristics now and five years ago.

The author also presupposes that the market circumstances now and five years ago are identical. It strikes me that after a five year absence of this type of clothing in the markets, consumers will have have covered their needs with substitute products that are now fashionable. It should also be mentioned that a five year interval is an adequate period of time in which weather conditions might have changed to the degree of making the alpaca overcoat not as essential as before. Thus, there are high chances that the Sartorian's overcoat will not meet the profit levels that it used to be associated with.

Finally, the president's argument is based on the assumption that none of the company' s competitors will initiate a concurrent alpaca overcoat production. However, it would be naive to conclude that, since competitors are currently offering a similar product, they will not do so in the future. This statement should be further analysed since it could by itself disqualify the whole argument regarding the overcoats' profitability.

In conclusion, the vice president' s argument is not based on sound reasoning. He could make a better substantiated case if he included evidence and pieces of statistics about the projected demand and the competitors' plans.