It is no longer possible for society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reason and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states that humans today cannot regard any living individual as a hero. Specifically, I feel "society" has been generalized under a single umbrella without taking into consideration that the definition of a hero can be different for every person and therefore I strongly disagree with the claim.

Every individual draws inspiration from a variety of sources like movies, incidents, people or even nature. Specifically in case of humans, for example, all the famous atheletes are an inspiration for kids following the respective sport. A 10 year old boy playing football in Argentina, naturally looks up to Lionel Messi as his hero or an upcoming cricket batsman in India may idolize Sachin Tendulkar. Thus, there are individuals in society today that idolize and seek inspiration from living men and women who are no less than heroes.

In the past, when many countries were under foreign rule, freedom fighters laid their lives for independence. Examples like Mahatma Gandhi, aptly called the Father of the Nation in India is a global hero. Similarly, the contributions of Martin Luther King and Nelson Mandela, in the entire movement for the liberation of African-Americans are extraordinary and they deserve all the admiration they have today. However, the contributions of influential individuals today, fighting against evils of society, cannot be compared with these martyrs. The injustice and ill practices predominant in the society today are completely different and equally important and therefore cannot be undermined.

The covid-19 has spread across the world. With governments worldwide fighting to save lives, the doctors and health officals are nothing less than heroes. Risking their own lives along with their families, these individuals are effortlessly working with inadequate facilities to save our lives. The police officials and local health workers trying to contain the virus by setting up quardoning off hotspots and containment zones are also working selflessly while the entire world is watching from the safety of their homes. Ignoring these contributions and not recognizing these living heroes today would be a huge mistake.

Keeping in mind these examples mentioned hitherto, it can be inferred that the definition of a hero can vary significantly from person to person. Thus, the general claim that we cannot find heroes in today's living world is not true at all. For an individual, someone as simple as his or her parent can also be a hero.