Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information Others think access to much information creates problems Which view do you agree with Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The statements presented point towards the pros and cons of internet usage. Specifically, the amount of information that is available at our disposal is brought into question. I personally believe that if used effectively, the information provided by the internet can prove to be extremely beneficial. However, there are demerits that cannot be overlooked.

At the outset, the ease of access in various aspects of life, provided by the internet has led to the betterment of our day to day lives. For instance, lets take a look at the field of science. Scientific research that has progressed globally is now accessible to both scientists and the general public. A scientist working in the USA can easily refer to previous experiments performed in his research area even if they were performed by a researcher in any other part of the world. Similarly a high school student working on a science project does not have to limit his work to the local library; He can use appropriate information and data collected in any part of the world using the internet.

Looking at simpler tasks of the daily routine, the internet has answers to an almost unlimited number of problems. For example, a stranded traveller can find a tutorial to change the flat tyre of his car on the internet. An expatriate student living thousands of miles away from his country, can find the recipe to his favorite dish from back home on the internet. Weather forecasts, share markets, global news, the price of plane tickets and even the list of local supermarkets can be found on the internet. These are just few instances of how the internet has made our lives easier.

There is a flip-side to all this exposure though. Online hackers and fraudsters now have a medium scam people. Children have access to explicit content like violence, adultery and pornography. One could also find the steps involved for making an explosive. These are some of the major flaws that have accompanied the innumerable advantages of unlimited exposure to information.

To summarize, I feel that if certain amount of caution and control is exercised, the internet is a very powerful tool which is beneficial for us.