Environmental protection policies should not be applicable to corporations, which generate significant financial and economical growth, even if such growth may have a negative impact on the environment.

In today's world, technological advances have made humans achieve things which were impossible just decades ago. However, how has this development affected the environment? Are the practices followed by the humans today sustainable? Or are we depleting the Earth's natural resources to an extent where our future generations will have serious problems surviving on this planet? These are some of the questions which need to looked at. Industrial revolution is at the core of this development. Industrial corporations and organizations play a key in deciding the progress of our world and, I feel they will continue to do so. If these organizations are to play a major role in our lives for years to come, they should be aware of the environmental impact that of their actions. I therefore strongly disagree with the statement that environmental policies should not be applicable to such corporations.

There have been instances in the past, where due to lack of stringent policies, catastrophies have occured. One such example is the Bhopal Gas Tragedy in India. A small town, Bhopal, in the central state of Madhya Pradesh in India is still facing the consequences of industrial negligence. A fertilizer company, Union Carbide, was using very harmful isocyanates in their manufacturing process. An uncontrolled chemical reaction caused this chemical to escape in the form of fumes in the nearby areas which were densely populated. The people affected have had genetic disorders till date. If stringent policies against the use of harmful chemicals had been in place such a disaster wouldn't have occured.

The ozone layer, which surrounds the Earth's atmosphere, protects us from the harmful ultraviolet rays of the Sun. Chloroflurocarbons (CFCs) are chemicals that are quite often used for refrigeration in many appliances and also in perfumes and deodrants. When these escape into the atmosphere, they lead to disruption of the ozone layer. A hole in the ozone layer was discovered over Australia, after which strong policies were put into place against the use of these chemicals worldwide. Many organizations were using CFCs frequently and making considerable profits and this may have been a reasons why the chemical wasn't banned previously. However, if the environmental impact of every step that an organization takes is studied carefully, and all such steps which have a negative impact are modified, if not stopped completely, such grave environmental problems can be avoided.

John Warner and Paul Anastas of the United States outlined the 12 principles of Green Chemistry in 1999. They have clearly explained how by modifying processes to make them cleaner and safer can ultimately lead to profits. These principles have clearly explained how environmental friendly alternatives can be designed and the criterias for measuring such alternatives. Thus, strict environmental protection policies can lead to profits not just for the environment but for the corporations as well