Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement raises a variety of issues about laws. One school of thought postulates that laws cannot solve the issues of modern society given the fact that people' s beliefs that drive their actions are not altered by laws. Another school of thought posits that laws, even if not perfect, can regulate a society thanks to their coercive nature. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that, although laws do not change people' s heart, they determine people's behavior. A case in point would be a person that is deterred from stealing. Even if he believes that stealing is the only way to survive, the law prevents him from acting illegally. Thus, the coercive nature of laws resolves many internal conflicts in a community.

Another issue I would like to focus on is the adaptability of laws. To illustrate this, let us consider a group of people that demonstrates against a high tax law. The legislators cannot ignore the revolution, as a form of feedback, of their compatriots and avoid considering to slightly alter the law. In this case, both the legislators and the citizens will compromise in order to achieve a viable solution. Even though the solution does completely alter people's minds, it is, to a certain extent, in accord with their beliefs. Therefore, laws are successful in tackling the problems of a society because their adaptive nature balances the citizens' behavior and beliefs.

I concede that some laws are in constant disagreement with some people's beliefs. An informative example would be a law prohibiting abortion. Common sense informs me that a woman in favor of abortion will have an abortion surgery in a country where it is allowed instead of obeying the law of her country on the grounds that her morality cannot be compromised. However, this situation does not disqualify the argument that there is no better alternative than laws to meet exacting society dilemmas.

In conclusion, while laws cannot change people's hearts, their coercive power determines the citizens' behavior regardless of their beliefs. Admittedly, there is no better alternative than laws to ascertain order and pervade in a society.