The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author contends that charging people for using the beaches in Tria Island for raising money to replenish the sand will prevent the erosion of the beaches and the buildings along the shore and improve the tourist industry over the long term. While at first glance the argument might seem acceptable, further inspection reveals some assumptions that render is unconvincing as it stands.

The first assumption that is not based on sound evidence is that charging people will cover the costs of replenishing the sand. I would be more convinced if the author included statistics of the average number of people that visit the beaches each month and an estimation of how this number will be altered if the fee is implemented by the tourism bureau. Without this pieces of evidence, we cannot conclude whether the revenue from charging tourists will be adequate for replenishing the sand.

Another useful piece of evidence would be the impact that the preservation of the beaches and the buildings will bring to the tourism. The author states that tourism will improve in the long term but fails to take into consideration the impact to tourism if replenishing should be frequently repeated to eliminate any potential erosion. Another piece of information that is missing and could disqualify the argument is the extent to which tourists will be annoyed by the process of replenishing the sand.

Finally, the argument is based on a far-fetched analogy between Tria Island and Batia Island. Common sense informs me that protecting the buildings in Batia by replenishing the sand does not guarantee that the specific process will have the same effect in Tria. To illustrate this, let us consider that weather conditions or the land composition might differ in the two islands. Moreover, the author does not cite any evidence about the durability of the project in Batia. Thus, the idea that replenishing the sand will protect the buildings is based on an assumption.

In conclusion, the letter is not based on sound reasoning. The author could make a well-substantiated case if he based his claims on evidence about the impacts of replenishing the land both on the buildings and the tourists.