Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The statement raises a variety of issues about the role of education. On the one hand, morality is necessary in the current stress-packed and money-worshiping society. On the other hand, logical reasoning is applied in all kinds of everyday decisions and saves time to people. Therefore, it would be helpful to teach both morality and logic at school. As far as I am concerned, I believe that it is preferable to teach logical reasoning than morality at school for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that a moral character cannot be developed through teaching. On the contrary, morality is learnt through experiences and everyday interactions. To illustrate this, let us consider that a person acts immorally towards his classmate. The teacher's role is to punish this kind of behavior rather than teach the importance of respect and kindness in class. Common sense informs me that rebellious teenagers might react to and reject these theoretical concepts about morality, while others might not even understand how these theoretical concepts are linked to their behaviors and dilemmas.

Another issue I would like to focus on is that the code of ethics is a personal and subjective issue. It strikes me that teachers are not able to transmit the value of specific actions in an objective way. Few would disagree that teachers will be influenced by their own experiences when molding the beliefs of their students.

A compelling argument against morality and in favor of logical reasoning is that logical reasoning is applicable in a wider range of decisions. If the person is trained to think rationally, he can easily consider the impacts of his action, not only to himself but also to the rest of the people involved, and realize if his action is immoral. However, when logical reasoning is taught, teachers should always underscore that emotions should not be completely neglected when making decisions on the grounds that humans do not operate like robots.

In conclusion, if I had to choose between morality and logical reasoning, I would choose the latter to be taught in schools since it is more objective and ubiquitous in everyday life. Although morality is essential in a society, it is learnt through experiences rather than theoretical education.