People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement raises a variety of issues about the extent to which a human controls his behavior. I fundamentally agree with the proposition that people's actions are largely determined by unconscious forces that he cannot control. A contrary position would reflect a too narrow view of the human nature.

The first thing that springs to mind is that people's thoughts and emotions are influenced by the people's surroundings. A case in point would be a child that perceives a homeless man. In this case the child compares the man's insolvency and helplessness with his experiences. Thus, he is inclined to offer food to the man. This decision is dictated by the child's emotions which cannot be controlled instantly, even when he gets older.

Another issue I would like to focus on is the influence that is exerted upon people. It strikes me that humans are greatly influenced by their peers' and parents' beliefs. Common sense informs me that this influence is rarely discerned and, therefore, rarely limited. To illustrate this, let us consider the way ISIS augmented in size. The pillar of the organization is the propaganda that lures new members in and the force that keeps the members loyal is their passion for the causes of their endeavours. Common sense informs me that passion is more powerful than rational thinking that a man can determine.

A compelling argument against the above would underscore the belief that the mind controls what the eyes perceive. However, the mind cannot be active every single moment. Even if the mind is omnipresent, it still cannot regulate the feelings that the surrounding evoke to the human.

In conclusion, real-life examples showcase that people's behavior is largely determined by forces which are unconscious to humans. The feelings and the influence from other people will always impede the man from restraining these unconscious forces in his decision making.