Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement raises a variety of issues about the role of scandals in social life. One school of thought postulates that scandals are not useful on the grounds that they divert public attention from more important issues. Another school of thought posits that scandals are useful because they help citizens focus on issues that could not be exposed in alternative ways. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that scandals reveal the true character of the people involved. A case in point would be a scandal regarding unethical bribing by politicians. The electorate perceives not only the way that the politicians involved in the scandal react to impeachments but also the behavior of their opponents and the moral of the journalists that exposed the scandal. Thus, by disclosing aspects of a personality, which would be concealed otherwise, scandals promote citizens' knowledge and participation in social affairs.

Another issue I would like to focus on is the change that scandals bring to the society and legislation. To illustrate this, let us consider a scandal about child trafficking. After the scandal is exposed, law makers are responsible for enacting new laws that will eliminate any possibility of a same, or any similar, action being repeated in the future. Therefore, laws are getting updated according to the needs of the current society.

A compelling argument against the importance of scandals in social life would underscore that their explosive character disorientates citizens. Few would disagree that some scandals that are brought to light by people with political motives are not supported by evidence. While this can divert public attention from more important social issues, it cannot disqualify the argument in favor of scandals' usefulness. It could also be mentioned that the public should investigate the source of the information to evaluate the accuracy of a scandal.

In conclusion, even if scandals might precipitate a short-lived, chaotic situation in a community, their role is essential. Focusing our attention on issues that would not be tackled otherwise, they facilitate the role of reformers and they promote politics.