Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement raises a variety of issues about the reliability of facts. One school of thought postulates that facts should be mistrusted on the grounds that most of them turn out to be inaccurate. Another school of thought posits that facts are reliable since they are based on evidence. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that there is a considerable number of facts that hold true for many years. A case in point would be the fact that the earth is not flat. Another illustrative example would be facts about the birth rate of a community in a specific year. These kinds of facts are supported by scientific research and statistics from experiments and surveys. Thus, they strengthen the argument of embracing facts as true.

Another issue I would like to focus on is the appropriate attitute towards pieces of information referred to as facts. Common sense informs me that it is advisable to retain an inquisitive eye towards them rather than completely mistrust them. To illustrate this, let us consider a human that confronts a new piece of information. Before accepting it as a fact, he is responsible to examine the trustworthiness of the source of information as well as to seek for relevant evidence that bolsters it. Rejecting any idea that is referred to as a fact is naïve and impedes the process of exploring the world around us.

A compelling argument in favor of mistrusting facts would underscore various occassions in which views that were regarded as facts were proven to be inaccurate. However, few would disagree that such inaccuracies occur as part of the trial-and-error process followed in almost all sciences and human endeavours. It strikes me that human error should not be penalized because, otherwise, scientists’ fear to present any findings will hinder their research. It should also be mentioned that checking the validity of a fact promotes critical thinking and trains not only the scientists’ but also the common people’s brain.

In conclusion, pieces of information that are referred to as facts should not be completely neglected. On the contrary, citizens should be always ready to exercise their brain through looking for supporting evidence and evaluating the source of the information.