The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter contends that Seatown University should offer free-tuition at the university for the faculty's college-aged children in order to lure new professors and enhance the morale among the existing ones. He supports his opinion by mentioning that a similar policy was successful in improving faculty retention rates at nearby Oceania University. While the argument might have some merit, there are a number of assumptions that need further inspection.

Firstly, the author assumes that the correlation between free tuition policy and a higher faculty retention implies causation. In order to convince me, the author should provide pieces of evidence to eliminate other possible reasons for the higher retention in Oceania. Illustrative examples would be higher salaries or other perks that professors in Oceania University receive, such as more grants for research, free access to the gym, free health insurance or free meals at nearby restaurants.

Another assumption that the author makes is based on the far-fetched analogy between Oceania University and Seatown University. Even if the faculty retention rates are caused by the free-tuition policy in Oceania, this does not guarantee that the same policy will have the same effect in Seatown University. To illustrate this, let us consider the quality of education provided in both schools. If Seatown is considered inferior to Oceania, professors at Oceania will not necessarily be tempted to send their kids to this university if they value the quality of education more than the free tuition. Thus, the free-tuition policy would not be a reason to retain professors at Seatown. It strikes me that the argument would be more convincing if the author provided information about the schools ranking and other statistics in the form of comparative data.

Another piece of evidence that the author could take into consideration is the circumstances under which the study was conducted. Common sense informs me that the author, as the representative of the faculty committee, might be subjective in the grounds that he has interest in the free tuition policy. However, if he included statistics about the time length of the study and the rate to which the faculty retention was increased due to this policy, he could provide a well-substantiated case.

In conclusion, the argument is not based on sound reasoning. The author would have to cite pieces of evidence in the form of statistics and comparative data to convince the president of Seatown University.