Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement raises a variety of issues about mass media and the Internet. One school of thought postulates that mass media has worsened the human' s ability to focus on a task for a long time. Another school of thought posits that, even if this is true, mass media is beneficial to the human mind on the grounds that it has promoted the human' s ability to discern important facts from the vast amounts of information that are available. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that, in the contemporary society, citizens are inundated with information. To illustrate this, let us consider a citizen's typical day, in which he receives numerous emails and newsletters, he reads news on social media and, finally, he can find answers to any question that he has with a simple click in a google search. Common sense informs me that it is impossible to read thoroughly the information from all these sources in a society where free time is limited. Thus, people have developed indispensable techniques to distinguish the important facts rather than getting lost in the ocean of data.

Another issue I would like to focus on is that, thanks to the Internet and the vast amount of available data, people get wiser. A case in point would be a resident of a small, distant community, who learns about politicians, scientists, artists and musicians in other parts of the world through accessing web pages. It strikes me that the dominance of the Internet propels equality and works towards establishing the right to objective information.

A compelling argument against mass media would underscore that they cause attention spans to become shorter. Few would disagree that young people, who were born in the digital age, have learnt to absorb short pieces of information quickly through their smartphones instead of focusing to read a long article and understand a specific issue in depth. Nevertheless, since long attention spans can be developed at school and university, the argument of mass media detractors cannot cancel the benefits that mass media and the Internet offer to the society.

In conclusion, even if mass media jeopardizes people's ability to focus, the advantages that it presents outweigh the disadvantages. Given the increasing Internet penetration rates, equality and knowledge will be enhanced in societies.