Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement raises a variety of issues about personal goals. One school of thought postulates that young people should be adviced to follow their dreams because this gives meaning to their endeavors. Another school of thought posits that it is preferable to motivate teenagers to achieve worthy goals on the grounds that their dreams might be selfish. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that young, immature and restless people long for money and fame. A case in point would be world dictators who oppress their nation to cater to their need for power and recognition. It strikes me that, if these people were adviced to pick worthy goals from a young age, they would not have aspirations to conquer the whole world.

Another issue I would like to focus on is the extent to which dreams are plausible. Even if people’s dreams are not selfish, they appeal to the emotion and, thus, becloud logical reasoning. Common sense informs me that the absence of rationality makes the process of achieving a goal more difficult. Therefore, dreams might not be attained since they may seem intimidating or too challenging. Admittedly, the disappointment from a possible failure might result in quitting a dream.

A compelling argument in favor of dreams underscores the inspiration that they offer to the dreamer. Few would disagree that if someone aspires to be a renowned doctor, lawyer or professor, he will study hard to realize his dream. Nevertheless, inspiration cannot ensure success, whereas a set of worthy, achievable goals can promote a step-by-step approach and guarantee long-term success. It should also be mentioned that the inspiration that dreams provide can be supplanted by discussions between the young generation and their professors or entrepreneurs from the business world and researchers.

In conclusion, young people should be taught how to set worthy goals rather than big dreams. Since inspiration does not have limits, it might end up in selfish or unattainable goals.