The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria."Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people

The letter to the tourism head states that in order to recover from the erosion of sand, the tourism bureau of island of Tria has to impose fines on the people visiting the island. The author provides unwarranted assumptions and some other points are to be made into account for proper evidence.

To commence with, the author states that people who visit Island of Tria need to be charged, but he does not consider the number of people visiting the beach and the time period of beach visit. Moreover, the tourists may not feel interested to pay money just to visit the beach. Indeed, they may resort to some other places which do not charge them money. He also makes a point that the money collected from the visitors can be used for replenishing the sand. When there is no evidence on whether people are interested to pay money or not, it would be senseless to think about replenishment. If at all, they are interested to pay money, the money collected would not be sufficient to rejuvenate the beach.

The author also claims that replenishing of land was practised in Island of Batia and yielded good results. But he did not provide any further information on the demographic condition and weather parameters of batia island. It may differ slightly or greatly from the island of Tria. If it varies , the replenishment technique used in batia island may not seem to be fruitful in Tria island. Additionally, the climate in batia may not be too harsh as in Tria island, which resulted in washing of sand. Therefore, the sand in the shore may not be able to sustain the harsh weather , eventually resulting in collapse of buildings near the shoreline. It would be wise to construct barriers in between the buildings and shore to prevent the effect on buildings.

To conclude, the author does not take into account the number of visitors visiting the beach and whether they are interested to pay money for replenishment and also does not provide any data on the demographic and climatic conditions of the two islands in comparision. Therefore, the argument would have been reasonable if the reasons provided above are mentioned.