To understand the important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

In today’s contemporary and fast paced world , each country’s major cities play a pivotal role in deciding the economic, social as well as political status of a country. The major cities reflect upon the overall development and provide a bird’s view of that country. However, the cosmopolitan cities are not alone enough to extrapolate the major characteristics of a country.

For decades, a country has been divided into two fragments. Firstly, the major cities where urbanisation and development have taken at a faster pace. Secondly, the towns and rural areas of the country which provide a closer look into a country’s cultural heritage.

Every major city of any country will always have the best amenities and facilities. For instance, consider cities such as New Delhi in India, France in Paris and Beijing in China, which provides us some insight into the culture and traditions of that countries, but does not give a holistic picture. Due to commercialisation and growing needs of each city to compete with each other in the race of being best, they are not capable of capturing the true essence of their society and the bucolic beauty of that nation. Another popular example is Paris, where people from different places of the world migrate to this place to pursue their careers and they continue their livelihood in the city of Paris. As a result, due to varied people the city would not offer the holistic view of Paris.

Therefore, to explore the cultural and traditional background of India, one must have a look at the country side which gives a clear view of Indian traditions. India, is a place where more than 70% of the people live in villages and therefore would provide a extravagant insight into the country’s culture. Moreover, the people in rural areas follow all the cultures and this cannot be found in urban areas.

Major cities will always provide information and important characteristics of a society. However, one can truly know about a country’s culture and society by studying the smaller cities and towns along with major cities for accurate knowledge.