The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria."Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people

This letter’s author recommends charging fees for public access to Tria’s beaches as an

effective means of raising funds for the purpose of saving Tria’s tourist industry. The author

reasons that beaches-access fees would reduce the number of beachgoers while providing

revenue for replenishing beach sand needed to protect nearby buildings, thereby enhancing

the area’s attractiveness to tourists. To support the argument, the author points out that beach

sand was replenishing on the nearby island of Batia, thereby reducing the risk of storm

damage to buildings there. I find the argument unconvincing for several reasons.

First of all, the author makes certain dubious assumptions about the impact of beach access

fees. On the one hand, the author ignores the possibility that charging fees might deter so

many tourists that Tria would be worse off overall. On the other hand, perhaps the vast

majority of Tria’s tourists and residents alike would happily pay for beach access, in which

case Tria’s beaches would continue t be no less crowded than they are now. Under either

scenario, adopting the author’s proposal might harm, rather than benefit, Tria’s tourist

industry in the long run.

Secondly, the mere fact that on nearby Batia replenishing beach sand has served to protect

shoreline buildings is scant evidence that Tria would achieve its goals by following Batia’s

example. Perhaps the same course of action would be ineffective on Tria due to geological

differences between the two islands. Or perhaps Batia is in a far better position than Tria

financially to replenish its sand on a continual basis. In short, lacking evidence that conditions

on the two islands are relevantly similar, the author cannot convince me on the basis of

Batia’s experience that the proposed course of action would be effective on attaining Tria’s

goals.

Thirdly, even if replenishing Tria’s beach sand is financially feasible and would protect

nearby buildings, the author provides no evidence that Tria’s tourist industry would be saved

thereby. Perhaps Tria’s tourist appeal has little to do with the beach and nearby buildings; for

that matter, perhaps Tria’s tourist appeal would be greater with fewer buildings along the

coast. Since the author provide no firm evidence that replenishing sand and protecting nearby

buildings would be more beneficial to Tria’s tourist industry than allowing nature to take its

course, I do not find the author’s argument the least bit compelling.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it sands. To strengthen it, the author must show that

charging beach-access fees would reduce the number of beachgoers, but not to the extent of

undermining the goal of raising sufficient funds to maintain an attractive coastal area. The

author must also provide better evidence that replenishing sand would indeed protect nearby

buildings, and that the net result would be the enhancement of Tria’s tourist industry.