5. Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Admittedly, major cities are, worldwide, places where almost each country treat as center of politics, finance, culture and education. So the claim that governments must ensure sufficient financial support for major cities so that they could thrive, for a nation's cultural tradition are primarily preserved and generated in cities, sounds plausible at first glance. With further consideration, however, whether the statement holds water is still up for discussion.

Cities are not necessarily the origination of traditional culture, not to mention preserved there. Citied play an important role in many ways, such as being the center of development and representing the image of a nation. But being the place where culture is generated and preserved does net have to be one of the function of a city. China, the oriented country that based its culture mainly on agriculture, is not thriving to maintain the ancient agricultural lifestyle in major cities. Because there are alternative, more important responsibilities that major cities should handle.

And I agree with the claim that governments must give sufficient support financially to major cities. The math is quite simple. With enough money, cities would be able to offer places and jobs for elites to conquer, and enduring work of illustrious people in cities would pay cities back with promising achievements in all fields. And this could trigger further development as the good name of the city spread. While without the investigation from the government, the city without a startup foundation cannot even draw specialist come to live and work in the first place. How else can Japan cultivate Tokyo as its capital and become one of the world's biggest city? Enough financial support must be in place along the progress.

As is reasoned above, advantages of offering major cities with the money they need to thrive are not hard to realize. But as the place generating and preserving the traditional culture is a tenuous one. And the city does not have to be the most traditional city to be treat as a major city. Clearly, we don't see New York as the most impressive city in the US because of its historic meaning. It is its economical and fashionable influence that people enamor.

In sum, I partially agree with the statement that governments should see their major cities with sufficient financial support, but the reason is much more than they are places where the cultural traditions are generated and preserved.