Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

To encourage teachers to be more devoted in their job, some suggest that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance. While the purpose is to better the condition of education, I don't think this is the best way to go.

Obviously, the strategy aims at forcing teachers to attend to students with their most effort, and will do the job. Frankly speaking, teachers is, after all, a job, and salary is the ultimate goal of working for most people. Through determining the salaries they get according to the grades that their students get, the policy should motivate teachers do anything they can to help students make progressions. That's probably why many parents would have tutors to aid their kids after school in private, believing that they can get professional aid from the tutor as they pay the price.

However, we should not oversee the truth that students vary in many ways, and the effort paid by the teacher is only part of the factors that affect the academic performance of students. A student with talent in literature could be poor in mathematics, and her failure in math exams doesn't mean that her math teacher is being ignorant of her. As we all know, one's interest in something is the best guide one could get. Teachers are playing an important role in helping the students learn about the world, but their effort are limited, and students rely much on themselves in choosing to be outstanding to be normal.

Besides, education is not merely focusing on academic performance. When we send our children to school, we are not only expecting them to learn to read and do the math, but also hoping that they can develop into independent person. Carrying out such policy with emphasis on grades only, may result in neglecting other abilities that students should have picked in school, like the ability to handle pressure, to communicate, and so on.

In all, basing teachers' salaries on their students' grades may seem practical at first glance, but its limits as quite clear. We should consider other ways to motivate teachers.