colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The claim suggests that all faculty should be required to spend time outside the academic work. Apparently, it aims to force the professors to step outside the campus for a bit and keep them from do the research in their lab without getting in touch with the outside world. I find this appeal practical and meaningful, and I will explain my reasons as follows.

For starters, faculty having some practical experiences could help them have a better understanding of the knowledge they are teaching. I think we can all agree on that colleges and universities are not only paradise of academic researches but also a fuel station helping people have a greater career achievement. Thus, it is imperative for the professors to be aware of how can the professional knowledge be used in the real world. Without real life experiences, chances are that professors, being unfamiliar with the usage of his professional knowledge, would put lots of focus on recent academic progress in class and ignore the need of instruction on how to practice.And his students will probably find themselves hard to perform the knowledge later on doing their job.

Secondly, working outside the lab could help professor be aware of the applied technic presently, and adjust his emphasis in his research accordingly. While it is true that one could learn about the hot topic by viewing the magazines, the real life experience could give a better guide. And it is always the need that encourage people to dig deeper. Consider the phones that we use everyday. New technic are being invented everyday to make the phone have a better performance, and locking oneself in a lab could miss the progress that commercial companies have made in the field.

Some may argue that spare effort on things outside academic world is a waste of energy. Plausible as it may sound, I think it only serves to have the classes more functional, and is not a bad thing for students.