The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the letter argues that in order to save the tourism industry of Tria island, authorities at Tria island should start charging tourists for using the beaches of Tria island. It is based on the premises that erosion of sand at its beaches started and it poses grave threat to the tourism industry of Tria island. Moreover, the similar step was taken by the island of Batia in order to reduce the risk of damage to buildings. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

First such evidence is the probability that tourists would keep coming to Tria island despite the introduction of the charges. However, there may be the case that tourists come to this island because it does not charge for using its facilities while other beaches in its proximity charge for the facilities which would make the argument unreliable. This beach provides tourists to spend enjoyable time with no or little costs to the tourists and even it is preferable to other beaches because of the low costs despite it is the farthest from the location where most tourists come. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should collect the evidences from market research study that tourists would be indifferent to the charges introduced by Tria island and should also prove that tourists would keep coming to this island.

Secondly, the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the analogy between Batia and Tria. However, there may be important differences between these two locations such as Batia is known for its buildings while Tria is known for its beaches which would make the argument significantly weak. It may be possible that the buildings at Tria island are not vulnerable but only that it is facing the problem of erosion of sand at its beaches which is not a concern for tourists since they come to this island because of its beaches and they are indifferent to its buildings. Hence, in order to make the argument more valid, the writer should compile the evidences from market research study about the preferences of tourists pertaining to the buildings and should also demonstrate that buildings at Tria are in precarious condition and tourists have inclination towards buildings and they prefer to visit a beach which offers good buildings to stay.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily assumed that this island is habituated by tourists only. However, it is possible that this Tria island is visited by more locals than tourists which would make the argument unacceptable. It may find that people who live in the vicinity of Tria island come to this island for more often and authorities at Tria do not charge them. Moreover, the proportion of local people and tourists is very high that implementation of charges only on tourists would be insufficient to redress the problem of erosion. Thus, to make the argument more reliable, the writer should aggregate the evidence from authorities about the percentage of local and tourists coming to this island and should assert that tourists are more in numbers than the locals who visit this island.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unwarranted evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.