Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The results of the study showing the astonishing results, i.e., dairy products do not actually decrease but increase the risk of bone fracture by citing the long term study consisting of large number of people have affected from bone fractures, though they were consuming consistently diet rich in dairy products. However, the argument does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and unverified assumptions. Before the argument can be properly evaluated, following three evidences must be collected.

First of all, an evidence is required to validate what many people were saying. In other words, is it viable to rely on what many people has expressed about a diet that is rich in dairy products can prevent bone fractures? For instance, it may happen that maximum number of people among them were not nutritionist or a doctor. They expressed their opinion as a reply to some diet related questions. Further, it may also happen that these people were of old age which made them to submit such a statement since from old times, it is widely accepted that diet full of dairy products can help maintaining strong bones without any validating research by scientist or doctors. If any of the above examples were true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Secondly, had the surveyed people consumed only dairy products? In other words, the study has assumed that the people surveyed for the study has consumed consistently only dairy products that exhibited surprising results. For instance, it may happen that these people might have consumed something else which was in counter reaction to the effects of diet made from dairy products. Therefore, they may have fractured bones. Further, an evidence is required to prove that people who had not consumed any dairy products, had not had any vitamin for maintain their bones. Since it may happen that, though they were abstained from dairy products but they were consuming other vitamins helping them to maintain strong bones. If the above instances hold merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Third, an evidence is required to validate that consuming Vitamin D and calcium can offset the effects of osteoporosis due to age. In other words, a scientific study or research which can justify that dairy products can help old age people maintain their bones. For instance, it may happen that due to genetic and environmental factors, the adverse effects of osteoporosis cannot be mitigated even by consuming with dairy products. Further, an evidence is also required to justify that due to increase in age, there are no other factors which can cause bond fractures. For instance, it may likely that due to old age certain disorders such as due to injury in young age might start showing its results on the person and to which dairy products are futile. Unless the study is fully representative, viable, it is not possible to fully support the argument.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the study is able to collect above evidences and offer more validation perhaps in the form of research on what other vitamins can help bones, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.