In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Achievements follow endeavour”. It means unless someone venture into a field, the pinnacle is not certain. Therefore, there must be a diligence and perseverance in pursuing a venture. The prompt asserts that excited by past achievements in a field one can only make appreciable contribution in that field. In my opinion, I would strongly agree with this view and would further validate that past achievements instil the mood of courage, resourcefulness and ability to take initiative to make a significant contribution. The reasons justifying my view are presented in the following paragraphs.

First, in sports such as cricket, past achievements infused the vigour in most Indian citizen and some of them made huge difference how it pursued by others. For example, the no. 1 batsman in the world, Mr. Virat has said on many occasion like on TV interviews and chat shows that it is the past achievement of Mr. Tendulkar that urged him to pursue cricket and even do more what he had. Another example is, the no. 1 bowler, Mr. Bumrah has also confirmed in his speech about what inspired him to pursue bowling instead of batting that the past achievements of Mr. Wasim goad him to parallel him. Both the examples prove that past achievements of cricketers influenced younger generation and so, they made their name in the field. It matters because what has been done in the past has a bearing on current time.

Second, the field of education and research also follows the same pattern as mentioned in above paragraphs. For instance, the achievements of Mr. Raghu have realised because he was himself moved by Mr. Keynes’ focus on finance and economics. He made his name by predicting the worst financial crisis by stepping into the shoes of Mr. Keynes as confirmed by Mr. Raghu on CNN. Further, the achievement of Mr. Viral who became youngest deputy governor in India had entrenched his position by following what has been achieved by Mr. Famma and Mr. French. Mr. Viral was flattened by how these two inquisitive minds used the theory of mathematics in finance and Mr. Viral used same principle and developed a theory for systemic risks for banks in India. Both the instance had showed that past laurels brought in praise and acclaim for the current practitioner. It is significant since the field of research can make important contribution if it had realised its impact in the past.

Third, the field of business, innovation and the ability to take initiative and risk fall in the same road leading up to success. For example, the world today is being run on computers and it has reached to this stage just because the founder of Microsoft was greatly influenced by the founders of IBM. He said while speaking to journalists at World Economic Forum that if IBM can change the world with its super computer then why not a computer having smaller size bring change in the society. Further, the inspiring story of Mr. Steve is known worldwide and his speeches at college convocation confirmed that how he hounded his desire to develop and innovate something new which would involve technology but would be portable and would also make a landmark as did by computers founded by Microsoft. And we know that’s a history and today we have an access to world largest smart phone, i.e. Apple. Both the cases had showed that earlier success made possible further innovation and development. It is appreciable because what we are using today at mass scale was founded and became handier because of its earlier success.

Of course some may argue that past achievements are not required in order make or create something new and they may cite the example from some primitive times such as when Einstein or Newton developed theory of relativity where these men pursued something for which no precedents were there. However, one must know that they followed their respective fields and made history by not following any earlier examples but by following the past achievements of mathematics that could have been utilised in order to understand the physical world. Therefore, it showed that even their pursuits were results of some past achievements of some other but related field.