To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“What is society”? Research has shown that society is made up of its people, therefore, its people are society. However the critics had argued that characteristics of a society can be studied by its major cities only when all cities are uniform. The prompt presents an opinion on studying the major cities would help understanding the features of a society. In my view, I strongly disagree with this argument. The reasons for my critical assessment for the prompt are mentioned in following paragraphs.

First of all, does the economic status such as poverty ratio, inequality per cent age and physical infrastructure of major cities exemplify the characteristics of a whole society? Of course not. For instance, the availability of rapid metro, AC buses and well-connected rail network in major cities of Uttar Pradesh (UP) such as Lucknow and Agra does hide true nature of a State. The other cities of UP are not connected even by road and most of the villages in some cities do not have electricity. Further, in the state of Karnataka, the city of Bangalore, which is known as Silicon Valley, its major city cannot delineate the characteristics of a state as a whole. This city has largest number of IT companies, bio technology companies, finance and banking and has largest employment rate with minor crime rates. But its other cities such as Mandya, Mangalore and Mysore do not have any of these features. Both the examples prove that study of major cities does not help understanding the features of a society. It matters because other cities which are anomaly or at divergence with major cities must be studied for a comprehensive view.

Secondly, does the education level help understand the literate characteristics of a society? It can but only for those who wants to have a limited perspective. For instance the state of Tamil Nadu comes under top 5 states of India consistently ranked for literate population. But its other cities such as Trichy and Madurai has worst performance in literacy which is contradictory to its whole average. Further the state of Kerela which has ranked no. 1 continuously for more than 11 years for its education and literacy has cities such as Trivendrum where its citizen do not have even elementary school education. Both the instances validate the view of studying other cities as well. It is significant since major cities emphasises only the average part which can be misleading.

Thirdly, does the study of culture of major cities give the overall characteristics of a society? Yes, but only when the city has only one uniform culture which is not possible today because of globalisation. For instance the study of Delhi can deceive someone that being the capital of India it is safe and it has higher per capita income. However, detailed study of its other parts will show that the crime against women is highest in this city and it is the city which holds highest number of indigent people. Further the study of major cities of Kolkata will exhibit that the culture of Kolkata is influenced by rituals of Lord Durga and practising having non vegetarian foods during cultural festivals. However, other parts of Kolkata such as Jalpaiguri and Howrah would present a case where people abstain from non-vegetarian during festivals and they practice religion based on Lord Shiva which is entirely different from that of major city. Both the cases justify that religion and food habits cannot be understand just by going through major cities. It is appreciable due to the overwhelming divergence between the cities which cannot be interpreted just by major cities.

Of course some would argue that major cities has the potential to highlight the macro characteristics of a society such as by analysing Mumbai, one can understand the cosmopolitan culture which has high income, practice liberal views in religion and prefer eating outside of home. However, careful analysis of the same city would reveal that in that same city it is ransacked due to communal or religious riots and it is the city where people do not have a food to survive on some occasion. Therefore, study of other cities along with that of major city can help researchers understand the features of a society.