The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the health newsletter, the author argues that the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. The argument builds around two ten-year nationwide studies that indicate an increased proportion of bicyclists wearing helmets yet also an increase in bicycle-related accidents. However, several groundless assumptions are made throughout the argument and we need to carefully evaluate these assumptions to assess the robustness of the argument.

The first assumption the argument makes is that the two studies cited in the newsletter are both reliable and identical in background and scale. However, this might not be the case. For example, collecting reports about cyclist behaviors and acquiring data about helmet usage might be more difficult ten years ago than it is now, so the data ten years ago might be biased. Conversely, if cameras and traffic polices are more prevalent nowadays, the numbers in the study could be more representative of current situations. Unless these assumptions are verified, we cannot cursorily correlate the increased proportion of bicyclists wearing helmets with an increase in bicycle-related accidents.

Secondly, the author also assumes that increased bicycle accidents are due to cyclists taking more risks. Interpreting data from the two studies, the author claims that cyclists become less cautious since they feel safer wearing helmets. However, there could be a myriad of other reasons why the number of bicycle accidents proliferated. For example, the number of automobiles on the road might increase throughout the ten years, resulting in a more crowded road and a precarious environment for cyclists. Furthermore, new policies might tolerate higher speed limits for cars and therefore threatening the safety for cyclists on the road. These examples would greatly undermine the assumption that the increase in bicycle accidents is due to the reckless behavior of cyclists.

Finally, the author assumes that the effectiveness of a policy can be determined by a single factor. The author concludes that governments should focus on educating people about bicycle safety rather than forcing them to wear helmets. However, this claim simply overlooks the fact the all policies are greatly intertwined and that different policies are designed to complement each other and work effectively. For example, if governments only educate people about bicycle safety but don't encourage people to wear helmets, cyclists might only slow down their speed and forget to wear helmets, which can be harmful to them if they encounter reckless motorcyclists.

In conclusion, the aforementioned assumptions need to be substantiated to reach the conclusion that the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.