A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the passage, the author argues that the new Captain Seafood restaurant in Bay City that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable. The contention is built around a recent sales study indicating an increased consumption of seafood in Bay City restaurants and a nationwide study claiming that two-income families, which are prevalent in Bay City, eat less home-cooked meals. Though tempting to draw conclusions from the studies, more information about the sales study itself, the discrepancies in local and national demographics, and current consumption trends must be presented to assess the robustness of the argument.

The first price of evidence we need to acquire is the validity and representability of the sales study referenced in the argument. First of all, we must know how many restaurants are studied. If merely 5 restaurants are studied while there are 1000 restaurants in Bay City, the result of the study can hardly be deemed as representative. Furthermore, we also need to know the consumption of other types of food. If general consumption of food increased, then the increase in seafood consumption is simply a reflection of population behavior. However, if the relative increase in consumption of seafood outstrips that of others, it could indeed indicate a trend.

Secondly, we need information about differences between local and national demographics so we can reasonably interpret the results of the national study cited in the passage. It is always perfunctory to apply national study results to local issues unless we acknowledge regional discrepancies. If public transportation is wanting in Bay City, two-income families in Bay City may eat home-cooked meals more often since it is more inconvenient to get around. Also, residents in Bay City might adopt a healthier lifestyle than other places and are less inclined to dine in restaurants. Hence, more local demographic data must be provided to assess the validity of the argument.

Finally, we need more data about current consumption trends to help us evaluate the argument. Though we know seafood consumption has increased by 30% during the past 5 years, we do not know the current trend of seafood consumption, hence it is cursory to extrapolate this observation into the future. For example, there could be a 50% increase of seafood consumption in the in the first year followed by a gradual decrease. Or, there could be emerging studies on negative effects of seafood overconsumption. Either possibility undermines the claim that there is an increasing trend in seafood consumption.

In conclusion, more evidence related to the aforementioned issues must be presented to substantiate the claim that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood would be quite popular and profitable.