The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the passage, the president of Humana University predicts that instituting online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems. This argument is based on the success of nearby Omni University that provides online programs whose enrollment rates increased while expenditures for dormitory and classrooms decreased. However, more questions regarding the draw of online programs for potential students of Humana University, costs for offering online programs, and other reasons why enrollment of Humana University has reduced must be answered to assess the robustness of the president's prediction.

The first question we need to answer is the draw of online programs for potential students. Since the nearby Omni University is already providing online courses, the benefits of Humana also adopting a similar measure could be overestimated. For example, students who want to enroll in online programs might simply choose to enroll at Omni's University. Also, if Humana University is well-known for its beautiful campus, the inclination for students to enroll in Humana might decrease if they choose to adopt an online degree measure.

Secondly, we need to know about the cost of Humana University to offer online degree programs. Adopting a whole new measure entails many kinds of costs. For example, virtual lectures and classrooms are an important factor in online degree programs. Hence, schools need to provide training for professors and teaching assistants so that they know how to use online meeting software and interact with students online. Schools may also need to hire additional technical support to solve problems such as online traffic and web security issues. Furthermore, new computers and tablets that aid online programs might also need to be bought. If these costs greatly outstrip the revenue generated from increased enrollment, then adopting an online program might not be beneficial.

Finally, it is crucial that we investigate the actual reasons why the enrollment rate at Humana University is falling. The president claims that Humana can replicate the success of Omni University and increase its enrollment rate. However, if the main reason for the drop in enrollment rate is due to the low quality of courses and abysmal teaching of professors, converting these into a virtual format might contribute little to improving the current status. Furthermore, if students are less inclined to enroll in Humana because of their unkempt environment and sordid buildings, Humana should instead focus on improving the learning environment. Hence, the underlying reasons for the declining enrollment rate in Humana must be evaluated to corroborate the president's prediction.

In conclusion, the aforementioned questions must be evaluated to substantiate the president's prediction that offering online programs has positive effects on the schools' enrollment rate and budget.