Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

In society nowadays, people often elect politicians to serve for local governments and the country. The ideology and campaigns of the politicians often affect the support of constituents and the effectiveness of his or her term in office. As far as I'm concerned, I think it is beneficial for politicians to pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals. If policies are solely built around elusive ideals and practicality is ignored, the development of society might be hampered. Furthermore, pursuing common ground and consensus can greatly speed up the process of laying down laws and its enactment. Though it is certainly important for politicians to think of high-minded purposes that could benefit society, the possible outgrowths of these policies should first be carefully evaluated.

If politicians solely aim to pursue elusive ideals and disregard the impracticality of these ideals, then the well-being of society might be greatly undermined. Take the Cultural Revolution and The Great Leap movement as and example. The ideal Mao pursued is that antiquated knowledge that shackle people's minds should be neglected and society should embrace technology new ideologies. However, this high-minded pursuit of advancement resulted in a severe economic downturn and the destruction of precious vestiges around the nation. Since the practicality and possible outgrowth of the ideal is not carefully evaluated, the well-being of society is greatly harmed.

On the other hand, if politicians seek common ground and strive to reach reasonable consensus between different parties, both the efficiency and effective of the government could greatly increase. Consider the vast amount of factors that come into play when legislators are laying down laws and officials are implementing policies. Proposals might be vetoed by politicians from different parties while laws might be rejected by related stakeholders. If politicians pursue common ground, the legislation and administrative process would be more smooth.

However, seeking common ground it is not to say that politicians should jettison their ideals and their fervent to improve society. In fact, the motive to transform society into a better place is often the reason why society advances. However, these ideals must first be meticulously evaluated and their practicality assessed. Scholars, legislators, and different interest groups should all discuss with politicians about their thoughts. If these voices are not taken into consideration and politicians act in their own will, this would plague the notion that politicians are public servants and should act on behalf of a nation's people.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for politicians to pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals since the former results in a effective administration and the latter could undermine the well-being of society. However, it is still important for politicians to pursue ideals that might benefit society if its results are carefully evaluated.