Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Scientific research is a process of identifying an interesting phenomenon, investigating the causes, and finally appreciating the spectacular work of nature. As far as I'm concerned, the intrinsic value of research is attributed to the enlightenment it brings to society and applications derived from research results if there are any, are just a byproduct. Hence, I don't think scientists and researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people. However, if the funding for research is provided by the government or the taxpayers, scientists should dedicate some of their effort to areas that might be beneficial to the public.

Conducting research is an onerous and exacting process yet the results of the research can often be unexpected. Hence, it is difficult for scientists to decide their research areas based on the likelihood that the result is beneficial to most people. Furthermore, if scientists adopt such a utilitarian approach to research, they might eventually compromise academic integrity and solicit funding by making spurious conclusions about their research.

Furthermore, if scientists only focus on the benefits research can bring to most people, the advancement of science itself might be shackled. For example, most research about planets, stars, and the universe is often inaccessible to the general public. Since most people are unable to actually discover the universe because they are not professionally trained, this research might not be beneficial for them. However, these studies broaden our horizons and enlighten us about the numerous possibilities of the outer realm of the universe, which is what makes science intrinsically valuable. If these research are not conducted, the development of pure science might be greatly fettered.

Nevertheless, given the inherent uncertainties of science, if research is funded by the government through taxpayers' money, scientists should focus on areas that can benefit most people. Many research programs are often established by the government with a view to creating societal value. For example, medical research programs that fund the research of vaccines, medicine, and therapies for maladies are created since the research results could cure diseases and is beneficial for the general public. Research about eco-friendly energy such as solar power is also beneficial to the sustainability of our natural environment. If researchers are working under these programs, they should focus on research areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people to be responsible to society.

In conclusion, I don't think scientists and researchers should solely focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people. This is not only due to the unpredictability of research but also because adopting this utilitarian mindset might hamper the advancement of pure science itself. Nevertheless, if research is funded by the general public, some focus should certainly be put on areas that are beneficial to society.