Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The statement states that the greater number of people would benefit when scientists and researchers would orient their research on the areas which affects greater number of populations. The benefit of the population depends on various factors and just shifting the area of research towards it would not be sufficient. I do not agree with the statement and a few key factors to validate my point are:

If scientists and researcher only focus on the areas that affect the greater number of people then, discoveries and advancement in certain area would not have happen. For instance, in the subject of studying the outer space where the outcomes have no direct relation to the mass population, then many of the external planet would not have been found. By studying the outer-space, we are able to placed satellites which helps us in understanding the weather. Studying the weather helps us to provide early warning about some natural calamity. This helps in saving number of lives and property. So, if the early scientists and researchers had not done the research about the outer space then it would have been difficult to send satellites.

Furthermore, if the scientists and researchers do not study different diseases and viruses and experimenting with them, then it would be disadvantages. Though studying the unknown disease and virus do not affect or have direct advantages to greater number of people but doing so would be very beneficial for the future. If some unknown virus or disease spreads across the world then the scientists might have the basic knowledge of the virus and prepare an antidote faster. If the research was not done then, to find an antidote would take much time and this could even cause number of deaths. We have experience this situation, in the year 2020 by Covid-19. As the scientists didn't have the knowledge about the virus to prepare an antidote it took more than a year and during that time many lifes where lost and economy suffered. So, by just focusing on the research which have immediate benefit would not be a prudent choice.

Not denying the fact, that research should not be done in areas which benefit greater number of people. Researching in area which benefit larger amount of people have numerous advantages. First, the research in technology helps to make life of people easier and comfortable. For instance, the self driving cars, taxis and ordering food, and groceries at home on a click of a button has make life of people easier and hassle free. Secondly, the research done in robotics and automation helps to increase the production and overall quality of the product, whose benefits affect the people in general.

In conclusion, just by directing the research towards area which affect greater mass would not be beneficial. Researching in other areas should be done as we never know when that might come in help.