Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

In the capitalism society we live in today, corporations are established with a view to generating profit. However, whether these large firms also have a responsibility to promote the well-being of society and sustain environments remains a topic of debate. As far as I'm concerned, since corporations need to be responsible to their stakeholders, they also have a responsibility to make as much money as possible, given that they operate within the law. On the other hand, although it is not their duty to promote the well-being of society and the environment they operate in, they often still do so since current laws and public opinion help align these actions with their goals to generate profit.

Given the funding process of corporations, it is undeniable that the major focus and responsibility for corporations should be making as much money as possible. For corporations that went through IPOs, the funding of the firm comes from investments of the stakeholders. Therefore, firms must operate effectively and strive to increase the value of their stock to be responsible for their investors.

Although it is not the corporations' duty to promote the well-being of society and help preserve the environments, current laws and public opinion still require the corporations to do. Take environmental laws as an example. With a view to creating a sustainable environment for our offsprings and allow future corporations to thrive, governments often fine corporations if they don't abide by environmental laws. Governments may also provide subsidizes for companies that are aimed to operate in an eco-friendly way. Hence, corporations still have incentives to preserve environments.

Aside from environmental laws, the general public also expect corporations to promote the well-being of society. Hence, given the pressure to impress the public and establish a friendly brand name, corporations often lay down policies that might benefit society as a whole. For example, corporations might provide positions for mentally-disadvantaged people to apply and establish a benign workplace for the physically-disabled. Furthermore, corporations might also take part in fundraising events and donate hospitals and schools to poorer countries.

In conclusion, the major responsibility for corporations is to generate as much profit as possible given the nature of their funding process. However, corporations would also promote the well-being of society and environment even if it is not their responsibility, since these actions might align with their goal to make money.