In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Gauging the value and merit of different forms of arts, such as films, novels, songs, and paintings, is not a straightforward task. Since a work of art might have an influence on society, economy, and artistic trends, judging art based on a single measure is undoubtedly erroneous. As far as I'm concerned, in order for a work of art to have merit, it does not necessarily need to be understandable to most people. For example, literature might not be appreciated by people if it engages in debates about contentious topics. Paintings that propose new artistic trends might also be regarded as shocking. Nevertheless, they are valuable to both society and the development of art itself. However, if we are judging art from its economical merits, then it is crucial that it is accessible to most people.

Since literature might discuss various issues, sometimes even contentious topics, it is possible that the works for novelists or writers are not appreciated by their contemporaries. For example, during the Cultural Revolution, there are many writers who wrote novels that implicitly challenged the validity of the actions of the Chinese Communist Party. However, these works are suppressed by the government and even considered disrespectful by people who are brainwashed by propaganda. Most people during the cultural revolution certainly did not appreciate those writers' works since these works challenged their beliefs. Nevertheless, the works have great societal merit since it helps us understand the history and reflect on what we did wrong.

For painters, their works might also be inaccessible to most people since some of them aim to start new artistic trends. Take surrealism as an example. Many iconic works, such as Mona Lisa with a beard or Toilets with a signature, are baffling to most people, yet they represent a bold aim to defy conventional values of aesthetics. Most works of Jason Pollock, which often consist of random chunks of paint on a large canvas, may also befuddle most people since we are used to seeing art that is interpretable. However, these works all represent creativity and innovation, which is what makes art intrinsically valuable.

However, if we were to consider a work of art to have economical merit, it is important that they are understandable to most people. Take the entertainment industry nowadays as an example. Almost all producers of movies are searching for topics that best suit the audiences' tastes. For example, epic superhero movies or cheesy romantic comedies, film genres that the general public is fixated with, often receive more funding than arthouse movies that discuss unpopular topics. The box office performances of movies produced by large companies also greatly subdue those produced by small independent workshops. Hence, if we gauge a work of art with its economical merit, it must be understandable to most people.

In conclusion, I believe art need not be understandable to most people for it to have merit. For example, literature creates societal values while paintings itself are valuable to the creation of new artistic trends. Nevertheless, for art to be considered economically valuable, they need to be understandable to most people.