The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument,the arguer cites the evidence that clearview should be the first choice for anyone who wants to retire, based on which is the assumption that clearview has spectacular natural beauty and a stable climate. Another piece of evidence presented to support the argument is that clearview’s housing costs have fallen sharply over the past year and its tax revenues are still lower than in neighbouring towns. Moreover, clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. most importantly, retirees in clearview will have access to quality care as they age because the number of physicians in the area far exceeds the national average. Furthermore, the arguer takes it granted that clearview is a good place for geomancy. hence, the arguer draws the conclusion that retired people should come here for retirement. this argument is flawed in several aspects.

most obviously, the arguer assumes that clearview has spectacular natural beauty and a stable climate. However, no evidence is provided to support this assumption. we are only informed that there are spectacular natural beauty and a stable climate, but we don’t know what kind of climate is it. clearview is possible that this is a desert climate, full of sand, and it's spectacular, and it's also a very hot and dry climate. this enirnment is not suitable foe hunman being to live in. it's also possible that there are a lot of bugs, a lot of wild animals, a lot of bad security, a lot of disasters and so on that are not suitable for people to live in.

In addition, the arguer assumes that clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. The arguer fails to eliminate other possibilities that usually these mayors don't keep their word. because these mayors often say idealistic things when they're running for office, they're trying to get some votes, they're trying to help them get elected, and they don't actually do what they say.

Finally, the arguer assumes that retirees in clearview will have access to quality care as they age because the number of physicians in the area far exceeds the national average. the evidence provided in this argument is not sufficient to validate the assumption that there are mostly physicians, but older people generally need surgeons. The elderly generally have loose bones and are prone to fracture, thereby they may need more surgeons. Nevertheless, there are many physicians here, which may not be suitable for the elderly. Maybe the elderly still need to go to some developed cities outside the city to see the doctor, hence this place may not be suitable for the elderly.

To sum up, the conclusion lacks credibility because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer claims. To make the argument more convincing, the author would have to provided more specific evidence concerning that the climate is suitable, educational resources have been built, medical equipment and surgeons are complete.