Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

Invented in the early 19th century, the television has found its way in our living rooms and has a part of our lives. It is no doubt that television is a medium of information, which delivers news rapidly around the world. It is also a device that provides us entertainment and pleasure. However, I believe that televisions have more disadvantages than advantages for individuals.

Crime and violence are frequently depicted on television and may have negative effects on children. Children who see violent acts are more likely to display aggressive or violent behavior and also to believe the world is a scary place. Ongoing studies have shown a lasting correlation between watching violence on television and aggression. Research also suggests that aggression in childhood will continue into adulthood. Viewers sometimes imitate violent, criminal or other risky behaviors they see on television, and end up in injuries, or even commit crime as a result.

Watching too much television links to serious health hazards. Sitting on the couch watching television does little to burn calories intake in the body. As a result, many viewers become obese. Increasing numbers of advertisements on TV also lure people to purchase unhealthy food, which worsen their health conditions. In fact, studies have shown that there is a strong correlation between watching television and obesity. Furthermore, viewers sometime watch late into the night and results in sleep difficulties, depression, headache, and other illnesses.

Watching television may ruin family relationships, as viewers begin spending more time watching television instead of communicating with their family or their loved ones. For example, the emergence of video streaming makes viewers watch episode after episode without interacting with their family members. In addition to the lack of communication, the disagreement among different perspectives may trigger family conflicts and raise more tension in the family. Moreover, controversial issues and biased information presented on television always bring heated debates among family members and worsen the relationships.

The invention of television affected people all over the world, the growth of video streaming has become an irreversible trend. However, the disadvantages of televisions lie in violence and committing crimes, health related issues and unhealthy relationships. There is strong evidence that television has more negative effects than positive ones.